Violation or Disrespect : Update

Posted: July 30, 2008 in Macam-Macam

here’s an update from the previous post : I’ve been contacted by the head of the company via email yesterday and the company has expressed their apologies of what have been happened. I decided to accept the apologies and all things are fine now.

Moral of the story :
Photographers – Make sure not to forget to watermark/copyright your image.

If they still duplicate/use your photo with your watermark on it + without your permission.. start writing your own Blog.. =p

Comments
  1. Jan Shim says:

    A watermark tend to ruin an image especially when you’re over protective and place one right in the centre! If you place one in the corner it can be cropped off—damned if you do, damned if you don’t—life’s a bitch!

    I feel a simple © suffice as a warning. The amount of images I manage for archives and upload online, the last thing I need is an additional workflow to watermark.

  2. esharkj says:

    Yup! you’re right Jan Shim,
    Some point I believe where good + creative watermark really helps the picture to come out more attractive.. but over do the watermark really troublesome.

    I rather put a light overlay of watermark on the side of the picture, that I think is much better solution. But those Photoshop hackers nowadays really good in editing picture from an image with a watermark into one nice plain image without a watermark, well.. they’re desperate after all.

    That’s life..

  3. Jan Shim says:

    Also, you should not have separated this topic. Keeping it in the same post gives it some closure and at the same time continuity to the ever growing and menacing world of copyright infringement!

  4. esharkj says:

    I see… okay, in that case I just put the link to the previous post then..

  5. Lorna says:

    If there’s anything I’ve learned as a manager for Web and multimedia development, even if this case is brought to court you won’t win or be compensated much because you haven’t formally filed the work as yours with the copyrights office. Burn all your work on a DVD, then check out the procedures with our local office (near or inside the KK Courts building I think) for further info. If I’m not mistaken, they’ll charge you five bucks per application.

    You really should consider this since your work is obviously very valuable that others would want to take advantage of them! Good luck!

  6. esharkj says:

    Ya.. Good advice there Lorna.. thanks! In this case I rather choose ‘Disrespect’ than ‘Violation’..

    Just a bit shocked during last night Sabahan Bloggers Gathering 2008, I’ve been approach by one blogger who claimed to understand the whole story + explaining me what actually happen. After all everything are all fine now between both parties, me + them, both got their lesson..

Leave a Reply

